Comments 2

Demystifying the 7 Chakras: part 1, introduction

This part one of eight posts about your chakras.  We will be starting from the with an introduction then moving to your root and working our way up to your crown. 66626974c556a42e0b3e4a1efc010b19 (Source) Firstly, let’s talk about what chakras are in a more general, introductory level.  The 7 chakras are the energy centers in our body in which energy flows through.  Its an Sanskrit work that literally  translates into wheel or disk.  In yoga, meditation and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels that flow energy from one part of the body to another part of the body.  There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the corn of the head.  To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet.  This invisible energy, called prana, is vital force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive. These whirling swirling wheels off energy correspond to massive nerve centers in the body.  Each of the seven main chakras contain main bundles of nerves and major organs as well as our psychological, emotional and spiritual states of being.  Since these wheels of energy are constantly in motion, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid. The Mind-Body Balance is a two-way street: if there are certain fears  and emotions that we are holding on to, we may experience physical restrictions as well.  If you have achiness or stiffness, or certain reoccurring emotions and fears– you may find that it’s a certain chakra that’s affected or blocked. Yoga or meditation can help you identify your blocks and start to work through them.  It is important to remember that all of the seven chakras are interconnected with each other. Usually, balancing one chakra will create change in another chakra.


  1. Pingback: Health | Bright Eyed Arugula

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s